5 & Diner

5 04 2011

Phat Bottom Girl #1
Today’s adventure was the 5 & Diner.  After the discussion in the car about the prices it was predetermined we were most likely going to be having the specials.  Even with all the discussion I was still was unable to order with ease.  But the waitress was competent and successfully brought me the correct drink, sweet tea.  It was a tossup between the Chicken Fried Steak and the Meatloaf for me.  While attempting to make up my mind, dancing to Grease Lightening & performing the Hand Jive was in order.  Even with all the dancing I was unsuccessful in determining exactly what was going to resolve my hunger. (But PBG #2 and I were successful in thoroughly embarrassing Steve with the help of PBG #3 who makes a wonderful DJ.)  I went with the Meatloaf as it was the Monday special.  Based on 2 reasons, one if we are to return I would be able to get the CFS any time and two the waitress said it was better.  After the first outing I’m going to have to stop believing the waitresses.  The meatloaf was like something I’ve never seen.  It did look like ground beef but instead of being a chunk or slice from a loaf it was more pattie like with grill markings.  Along with being topped off with a great deal of carrots.  The carrots were overpowering and not cooked all the way through.  The after taste is not pleasant. As usual the company was more satisfying then the food.
Food 
Service 
Overall:

Phat Bottom Girl #2
I went into the 5 & Diner with high expectations after seeing the cool, blast from the past atmosphere.  It had me wishing I would have worn my sock hop poodle skirt that day. I really liked the mini juke boxes at some of the tables. I ordered the mini cheese burgers sliders ( a favorite item of mine at any restaurant) and after a little 50’s dancing,  we were served.  At first glance, I thought I would really enjoy my choice for the day. The mini bun bread was very good, however, my 2 mini burgers were. .. . cold. . . and frankly the meat reminded me of the questionable meat at my small high school. My fries were also cold, but hey at least they were consistent right??  I think if my meal would have been hot I would have enjoyed it a little more. Definitely not my favorite sliders in town though.
Food  
Service  
Overall:   

Phat Bottom Girl #3
I went to the 5 & Diner today with my lunch buds.  I have been there several times in the past.  I love the décor and the blast from the past music.  I ordered the special of the day for Monday.  The wait for the meal wasn’t bad, I think it was only 4 songs worth.  I played some music from the movie Grease and phat bottom girl 1 & 2 danced to “go grease lightning” and did the hand jive quit impressively.  Service was good, I substituted double mashed in lieu of green beans.  I haven’t been a green bean fan since well forever.  Had to pick them and snap them as a small person.  So well without being to hateful, potatoes where okay, brown gravy was just your everyday brown gravy, garlic toast was average nothing special but the meatloaf was not like I have ever had before and not in a good way.  Carrots really?!? In meatloaf??  I will go back because I like the overall experience, of course with my lunch buds it is always a pleasant time.  Steve seemed to really enjoy his, but his was cheaper.  Prices are a little high, just saying.
Food:
Service:
Overall:

Steve
The daily Chicken Fried Steak meal for $5.99 was delicious.  Buttery corn off the cob, mashed skin-in potatoes and garlic toast perfectly complemented the white gravy along the piping hot CFS!  The nostalgic sounds of songs of yester years playing in the background resonated of a time long gone but never forgotten.  The only problem is that I left the table contemplating… what is the price of tea in China?  $2.29 for a glass of tea (although quite tasty) is redonkulous!   I wondered about the ruler in which to measure this restaurant: food taste and temperature, courteous and polite staff, timely refills, cleanliness, atmosphere…  My thoughts are slightly skewed because the lunch brigade overcompensated any and all flaws this place served up.  Thank you pb girls!
Food:
Service:
Overall:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

